50 Honorary Fellows

The University Board decided on 13 March 1990 to establish a special distinction, Honorary Fellow of Uppsala University, which is conferred on those who have, through particularly significant donations or important efforts in public or private sector, benefitted Uppsala University.

H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf
First honorary fellow of Uppsala University
(when the distinction was established)

H.M. Emperor Akihito of Japan
(in connection with the 300th anniversary of Linnaeus)

Director, honorary doctor
Anders Wall

Director, HonDTech

Former Minister of Ecclesiastics, county governor of Uppsala County, MDhc
Ragnar Edenman (1914–1998, inaugurated 1991)

Director, honorary doctor
Göran Gustafsson (1919–2003, inaugurated 1991)

Director, honorary doctor
Peter Wallenberg (1926–2015, inaugurated 1997)